Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Christian Churches

Two thirds of the Swiss population has Christian faith. Half of the Christians are foreign born.

The local church, the local parish or the religious community is often for the foreign believers; the first meeting place with the Swiss people and provides a unique opportunity to integrate into Swiss society. This is particularly due to the fact that the Swiss churches are known for their unequivocal openness to foreigners.
Although many Christian migrants are involved in many activities of the parish and the local communities, the mother tongue remains often, even years after immigration, the preferred means of expression in the relationship with God.
As part of the state churches, however, there are religious services in other languages, religion courses in the language of the migrants, church activities, special ecclesiastic offers and specific social offers depending on the origin of the people. In addition, immigrant communities have given life to a multitude of migrant churches, mostly evangelicals.

In this section: themen/religion/christliche-kirchen-und-glaubensgemeinschaften/oekumene, themen/religion/christliche-kirchen-und-glaubensgemeinschaften/freikirchen, Catholic Church, Evangelical Reformed Church , themen/religion/christliche-kirchen-und-glaubensgemeinschaften/christ-katholische-kirche, Orthodox Churches

Related links:

Leben in der Schweiz – Information und Online-Beratung  

Christliche Kirchen

Zwei Drittel der Schweizer Wohnbevölkerung sind christlichen Glaubens. Die Hälfte der Christinnen und Christen wurde im Ausland geboren.

Die Ortskirche, die lokale Pfarrei oder die Kirchgemeinde ist für ausländische Gläubige oft der erste Ort der Begegnung mit Schweizerinnen und Schweizern und bieten eine einmalige Chance zu Integration in die schweizerische Gesellschaft. Dies insbesonders auch deshalb, weil sich die Schweizer Kirchen unmissverständlich zur Offenheit gegenüber den Fremden bekennen.

Auch wenn viele der eingewanderten ChristInnen sich an den zahlreichen Aktivitäten der lokalen Pfarreien und Kirchgemeinden beteiligen, bleibt bestehen, dass die Muttersprache noch Jahren nach der Einwanderung oft die bevorzugte Ausdrucksweise für die Beziehung zu Gott bleibt.

Im Rahmen der Landeskirchen gibt es daher anderssprachige Gottesdienste, Religionsunterricht in den Herkunftssprachen der Migrantinnen und Migranten, spezielle kirchliche Aktivitäten und herkunftsspezifische Sozialangebote. Gleichzeitig haben die Ausländergemeinschaften ein Vielzahl von meist evangelischen Migrationskirchen ins Leben gerufen.

Zum Thema: Oekumene, Freikirchen, Katholische Kirche, Evangelisch reformierte Kirche, Christkatholische Kirche, Orthodoxe Kirchen

Links: