Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  


Depending on their country of origin and the conditions of residence, foreign nationals in Switzerland are issued with different categories of permit. For nationals of non-EU/EFTA countries these permits are also important for travel to EU/EFTA states.

On the strength of a valid passport from their home country and their foreigner’s residence permit, a national of a third country (non-EU/EFTA country) living in Switzerland may now travel to all countries in the Schengen area without a (Schengen) visa.
At present all EU member states (except Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland,  Romania and the United Kingdom) are full members of the Schengen area.  The non-EU countries Iceland and Norway are also Schengen members.


Related links: