Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Universities and higher education


Five of the ten cantonal universities can be found in the German part of Switzerland: the universities of Basel, Berne, Lucerne, St. Gallen and Zurich. The University of Fribourg is located in the bilingual canton of the same name (French and German). In the French part of Switzerland, the universities of Geneva, Lausanne and Neuchâtel can be found and in Tessin, the Università della Svizzera Italiana.
 There are also the 2 Federal Poytechnical Schools (EPF) : that of Lausanne and the other of  Zurich as well as 4 Institutes of research : l'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI), l'Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage (WSL), l'institut de recherche en science des matériaux et en technologie (EMPA) et l'Institut fédéral pour l'alimentation en eau, le traitement des eaux usées et la protection des eaux (EAWAG).
 The cantonal universities offer study courses in human and social sciences, theology, law, economy, mathematics, natural sciences, medicine and pharmacy. The Federal Polytechnic Schools in Zurich and Lausanne are profiled in the technical and scientific fields. They train engineers, architects, chemists and pharmacologists, etc.

Universities of applied sciences

The universities of applied sciences UAS (HES in Switzerland) are establishments on a university level that orient to practical application. The UAS formations are closely linked to a profession and to the corresponding activity. In many fields of study (technology, economy, design, applied arts, social work, health), the UAS provides a teaching that prepares the individuals who obtain their diploma and who want to directly integrate active living.

There are currently 7 public UAS and 1 private one.

 In 2004, 160'000 students attended a school of university degree, of which two-thirds comprised of university students and one-third of UAS students.

In this section: Universitaet, fachhochschule

Related links: