Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Cantons and communes

In each of the cantons and all of the major cities, integration delegates work on the integration activities undertaken by public administrative bodies. Public integration offices are incorporated into the social services, the immigration police, the department of education and the office of cultural affairs. Because Switzerland is a federal union, the missions and tasks of the various integration services vary widely from one location to another.

Integration related efforts are essentially delegated to existing public organisations such as: schools, training institutions, health services and other public bodies that are actively involved within the cantons and communes. Special facilities intended exclusively for immigrants are only organised on a sporadic basis.


Generally speaking,
  • The integration delegates provide advice to administrative and political authorities concerning the integration of foreign nationals.
  • They manage any funds accorded for integration projects.
  • They prepare the basic information useful to any and all arriving immigrants.


In this section: Uri, Luzern, Zug, St. Gallen, Argovie, Vaud, Geneva, Valais, Fribourg, Jura, Neuchâtel, Zürich, Schaffhausen, Thurgau, Les Grisons, Schwyz, Nidwald, Obwald, Glarus, Soleure, Basel, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Appenell Rhode intérieur, Basel City, themen/integration/kantone-und-gemeinden/kanton-tessin, themen/integration/kantone-und-gemeinden/kanton-bern

Related links: