Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Tax liability

Foreigners pay income tax in Switzerland:

  • if they work 30 days or more in Switzerland
  • if they stay in Switzerland 90 days or more without working.
To avoid double taxation of foreigners , Switzerland has signed bilateral tax agreements with a number of countries. These include states such as EU / EFTA members, Australia, South Africa, Canada, China, USA, New Zealand, Russia. See the complete list on the Swiss tax administration website.


Related links: