Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Asylum Act 

Swiss Asylum Act (AsylA), based on international conventions, governs how asylum is granted, defines the legal status of refugees and other types of temporary and humanitarian protection, and regulates the return of asylum seekers. 

Art. 3. Definition of the term "refugee"

1) Refugees are people who, in their country of origin or in their last country of residence are exposed to serious harm or have a well-founded fear of serious harm due to their race, religion, nationality, membership of a social group or for their political opinions. 
2) “Serious harm” is defined as: a grave threat to life, physical integrity or liberty, or ill treatment causing unbearable psychological strain. Special consideration is given to reasons for flight specific to women.
 
The above definition designates who may be recognized as a refugee. The concept of a refugee is based on the 1951 Geneva Convention, an international agreement signed by Switzerland and 144 other countries.
 
Switzerland has also signed the Convention on the rights of the child, which determines how young unaccompanied asylum seekers are treated. 

Harmonisation across the European Union and Switzerland has made access to the asylum process considerably more difficult for refugees in all European countries.

Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Loi sur l'asile

La loi suisse sur l’asile règle l’octroi de l’asile, le statut juridique des réfugié-e-s, la protection temporaire que la Suisse accorde aux personnes en quête de protection et le retour de ces personnes. La loi suisse sur l’asile repose sur des conventions internationales.

Art. 3 Définition du terme de réfugié

1) Sont des réfugiés les personnes qui, dans leur Etat d'origine ou dans le pays de leur dernière résidence, sont exposées à de sérieux préjudices ou craignent à juste titre de l’être en raison de leur race, de leur religion, de leur nationalité, de leur appartenance à un groupe social déterminé ou de leurs opinions politiques.

2) Sont notamment considérées comme de sérieux préjudices la mise en danger de la vie, de l’intégrité corporelle ou de la liberté, de même que les mesures qui entraînent une pression psychique insupportable. Il y a lieu de tenir compte des motifs de fuite spécifiques aux femmes.

La loi suisse sur l'asile donne la définition de ceux qui peuvent être reconnus comme réfugié-e-s. Le concept de réfugié se base sur la Convention de Genève de 1951, accord international signé par la Suisse et 144 autres Etats.

La convention pour les droits de l'enfant a aussi été signée par la Suisse. Elle règle les affaires des demandeurs d'asile mineurs non accompagnés.

Avec l'harmonisation européenne, l'accès au procédé d'asile est devenu considérablement plus difficile pour les réfugié-e-s dans tous les pays de l'Europe.

Liens: