Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Marriage


Asylum seekers and refugees have the right to get married or divorced in Switzerland. Their marriages or divorces are governed by the Swiss Civil Code. The conditions for a marriage license also take into account the requirements of the law on foreign nationals. In addition, a divorce may have consequences for migrants that are linked to the law foreign nationals. For further details, see the topic Marriage and Partnership.


Following the provisions of the new law on foreign nationals, requests for a marriage license for a union between an asylum seeker on the one hand and a Swiss national, European Union national or a foreigner holding a C (settlement) permit on the other hand are now examined in depth. The registry office may take several months to carry out these checks.

Please note
If the registrars suspect a marriage of convenience, they are required to refuse to carry out the ceremony. This happens on a regular basis.

Asylum seekers are only protected from expulsion once the marriage license has been granted and a date has been fixed for the ceremony. Until this stage has been reached, an asylum seeker wishing to marry can still be deported.

Before the marriage has taken place, a change of canton is generally not permitted. After the marriage, the Federal Office of Migration automatically starts the reallocation of one spouse to the canton of the other.

Certain registry offices retain foreign passports to send them to the Office of Federal Migration.

In this section: Work, Accommodation, Residence Permits, Family Reunion, Marriage, Education and Training, Health

Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Mariage

Les requérants d'asile et les réfugiés ont le droit de se marier ou de divorcer en Suisse.  Leurs mariages ou leurs divorces sont régis par le code civil suisse. Les conditions d'autorisation de mariage tiennent en outre compte des prescriptions de la loi sur les étrangers. De plus, un divorce peut avoir des conséquences en matière du droit des étrangers. Pour les détails, veuillez consulter le thème "Mariage et partenariat".  

Suite aux dispositions de la nouvelle Loi sur les étrangers, les demandes d'autorisation de mariage concernant des requérants d'asile d'une part et des personnes d'origine suisse ou de l'union européenne ou des étrangers disposant d'un permis établissement C de l'autre part, sont aujourd'hui examinées de manière approfondie. Pour ces vérifications, les offices de l'état civil peuvent prendre plusieurs mois.

Attention !
S'ils suspectent un mariage blanc, les officiers de l'état civil sont tenus à refuser ce mariage: ce qu'ils font régulièrement.

Tant qu' un mariage n'est pas officiellement autorisé, c'est-à-dire que la date de la cérémonie n'a pas été fixée, un requérant ou une requérante d'asile désirant se marier peut toujours être explusé.

Avant le mariage, un changement de canton n'est en règle générale pas permis. Après le mariage, l'Office fédéral de la Migration OFM entame d'office une réattribution d'un des conjoints au canton de l'autre.

Certains offices de l'état civil retiennent les passeports des étrangers et étrangères pour les faire parvenir à l'OFM.

Autour du thème: Travail, Hébergement, Permis de séjour, Regroupement familial, Mariage, Ecole et formation, Santé

Liens:

Retour