Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Compulsory School

Compulsory school begins for children aged 6 and lasts for 9 years for all children living in Switzerland. They attend primary and later secondary school. Both are free and state-run; each local authority ensures that children may attend a school in their commune of residence.

 
Please note  
All children are entitled to schooling, regardless of their residency status. As a rule, education authorities do not communicate information about children of undocumented migrants to migration authorities. 
 

Assessment and Grades

Students’ performance is assessed regularly using grades, rankings and written reports. Grades are given on a scale of 1 to 6 (6 = very good; 5 = good; 4 = satisfactory; 3 and below = not satisfactory).   In general, students receive an assessment report two times a year. As well as academic performance, students are assessed on their behaviour and attitude towards work and learning.

 

These assessment reports are key to students’ future: they determine if students can pass onto the next year or into the level of their choice.   Schools have some liberty to set their own tests, but, following a decision by authorities (CIIP) in 2007, there will soon be common tests and assessments in the French-speaking cantons of Switzerland. 

 

Absences

Students may be absent from school for specific reasons : illness, accident, family bereavement, doctor, dentist or other medical treatment. Parents must excuse and give a valid reason for any absence. 

 
Parents should inform the school as soon as possible of any absence. In case of planned absences, parents should request permission from the school in writing in advance. In case of any long-term absence, the school will ask for a medical certificate.

 
Please note
If an absence is not excused, or if the reason is not valid, the school can sanction both the student and the parent.

In certain cantons, students may miss 5 half-days of school without providing a valid excuse. Schools should still be informed in advance. Contact the school to find out if this rule is valid in your area.

 

Holidays

Swiss school holidays cover 12 or 13 weeks per year: dates vary between cantonal and communal authorities. In general long holidays fall during the summer, and 1 or 2 weeks taken in the winter, spring and autumn.  

Please note  
Parents should respect the dates of school holidays when planning family time off. Exceptions are only made in very rare circumstances for specific reasons.

 

Parent participation in school life

The law (Civil Code) in Switzerland states that parents must collaborate with schools. A spirit of partnership is generally encouraged in cantonal education laws. Recent legislation incites greater parental involvement in their child’s school life. In certain schools, parents are members of the board of directors, giving them an integral role in the school’s management.

 

In many communes, parents members of political parties may also sit on school commissions and so to participate in the strategic development of the school.

 
 

In this section: Special education, Parent Participation , secondary school, School enrollment for migrant children, Primary School

Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Ecole obligatoire

Les enfants entrent à l’école obligatoire dès 6 ans. Celle-ci dure 9 ans. Elle comporte un niveau primaire et d’un niveau secondaire.

Tous les enfants habitant en Suisse doivent suivre les neufs ans de l’école obligatoire. L’école obligatoire est gratuite. Les communes garantissent que chaque enfant puisse suivre l’école publique de sa commune de domicile.

Attention ! 
Les enfants de personnes sans-papiers ont droit à être scolarisés. En règle général, les autorités scolaires ne communiquent pas les informations qu’ils ont à disposition aux services des migrations.

Notes

Les performances scolaires sont évaluées à l'aide de notes, d'échelles d'appréciation ou de rapports d'évaluation. L’échelle de note va de 1 à 6 (6 = la meilleure note, 4 = suffisant, au-dessous de 4 = insuffisant). L’échelle d'appréciation va de très bon et bon à suffisant et insuffisant. Le plus souvent, les élèves reçoivent leur bulletin de notes deux fois par an.
L'attitude face au travail et à l'apprentissage ainsi que le comportement social peuvent faire l'objet d'une évaluation.
 
L'évaluation des performances scolaires sert de critère pour le passage vers l'année scolaire supérieure (promotion) ou vers le degré suivant. La convention scolaire romande adoptée en juin 2007 par la Conférence régionale romande (CIIP) prévoit que tous les cantons membres de la CIIP fassent passer des épreuves communes. 
 

Absences

Les élèves sont autorisés à s’absenter en cas de maladie, d’accident, de deuil dans la parenté, de visite chez le médecin ou le dentiste, des séances de thérapie médicale etc... Toute absence doit être excusée et motivée par les parents.
Pour les absences prévisibles, les parents sont priés de remettre préalablement à l'enseignant une demande de congé écrite et motivée. 

Des absences non prévues devraient être annoncées aux écoles au plus vite.
En cas d’absence prolongée, l’école demandera une certificat médical.
 
Attention !
En cas d’absence non motivée ou dont le motif n’est pas reconnu valable, une sanction peut être infligée, soit à l’enfant, soit à ses parents.
 
Attention !  
A condition de l’avoir annoncé à l’avance, quelques cantons offrent aux élèves la possibilité de manquer 5 demi-journées sans qu’ils aient l’obligation de l’annoncer et de le motiver. Renseignez-vous auprès de l'enseignant ou de l'enseignante de votre enfant.

 

Vacances

Les écoles suisses connaissent 12 à 13 semaines de vacances par an : les longues vacances de l’été, les vacances d’automne et de printemps ainsi que les congés de fin d’année. Les dates exactes sont différentes de canton en canton et de commune en commune.
 
Attention !   
Les parents sont priés de respecter les dates de vacances. Les dérogations ne sont accordées qu’exceptionnellement et pour des motifs précis. 
 

Participation des parents à la vie scolaire

Le Code civil suisse (CCS) impose aux parents de collaborer avec l'école. La participation des parents est en règle générale inscrite dans les lois scolaires cantonales. Les lois plus récentes vont dans le sens d’une plus grande implication des parents dans la vie scolaire. C'est surtout dans les écoles dotées d'une direction d'établissement que les parents sont inclus comme partie intégrante de l'école en tant qu'organisation.

 

Dans de nombreuses communes et villes, les migrants membres d’un parti politique ont également la possibilité de siéger dans les commissions scolaires et de participer ainsi au développement stratégique de l’école.

Autour du thème: Pédagogie spécialisée, Participation des parents, Ecole secondaire, Scolarisation des enfants de migrants, Ecole primaire

Liens: