Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Chemist/Drugstore

The Chemist is often the first place to go if you are not feeling well. Chemists in Switzerland are highly-qualified health professionals and are competent to provide health advice. They will always advise you to see a doctor if there is any doubt.

You can buy many medications over the counter, but you need a doctor's prescription for a large majority (60%).  The law is very strict about what products can only be sold with a prescription. 

Please note!
Repeat prescriptions are valid 1 year only.  The chemist must follow the dosage mentioned on the prescription.  Remember to renew your annual prescriptions.

 

Checking and Assessing Prescriptions

Chemists always check the dosage mentioned on prescriptions.  They also check if the different types of medication you take are compatible (some products react badly with others).  It is important to tell the chemist if you take other types of medication, especially if you are treated by more than one doctor.

 

Who pays for your medicine?

Health and Accident Insurance covers approximately 80 - 90% of the cost of medication prescribed by a doctor.  The authorities publish a list of authorised products (List of Specialities).

Please note!
Only medication prescribed by a doctor a reimbursed by insurance companies.  Any drug bought over-the-counter is at your own cost.  
There are different ways to get your medicine reimbursed:
  • Pay for the medication at the chemists and keep the receipt and prescription; send these to the insurance company who will reimburse you (if you reach your annual medical franchise).
  • Many insurance companies provide a "Pharmacy Form" or an electronic card which you hand to the chemist.  Your insurer will then pay the chemist for your medication. (Attention: you may need to reimburse your insurer for any payments made if you do not reach your annual franchise)  

Request generic medication

Generic drugs are much cheaper than brand-name products.  They are authorised copies of drugs that exist already on the market and are safe and efficient.  Today, health authorities and insurance companies encourage doctors, chemists and patients to reduce the cost of healthcare by using generic medication.   

Please note!
Health Insurance companies require you to contribute 10% of the cost of generic medication.  If you use an original brand where a generic alternative exists, you are must contribute 20% of the cost.  Your doctor must confirm that there is no suitable generic treatment. 
 
Tip
It is a good idea to go regularly to the same chemist.  When your chemist gets to know you they can offer better advice, better assess your treatment and reduce administrative costs.

Related links:

Back to top

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Pharmacie

La pharmacie est souvent la première adresse pour des personnes montrant des symptômes de maladie. Les pharmaciens et pharmaciennes sont des professionnels de la santé hautement formés, capables de vous conseiller de manière compétente. En cas de doutes, ils vous enverront toujours chez un médecin. 
60% des médicaments disponibles en Suisse ne sont vendus que sur présentation d’une ordonnance médicale. La réglementation est très stricte.
 
Attention !
Les ordonnances dites renouvelables sont valables pendant une année. Les doses vendues sont indiquées sur l’ordonnance. Elles ne peuvent être dépassées à volonté. Pensez donc assez tôt à faire renouveler votre ordonnance.
 

Contrôle des ordonnances

Les pharmacies contrôlent les ordonnances en vue des dosages. Si vous prenez plusieurs médicaments à la fois, la pharmacie contrôlera également si les différents produits sont compatibles. Ceci est surtout important si vous consultez en parallèle plusieurs médecins.
 

Qui paie les médicaments

Les caisses maladie et les assurances accidents paient environ 80% des médicaments autorisés sur le marché suisse. Ceux-ci sont répertoriés dans la liste des spécialités.
 
Attention !
Les médicaments ne sont payés par les caisses maladie ou les assurances accident que s’ils ont été prescrits par un médecin. Tous les remèdes que vous prenez en auto-médicamentation sont à vos frais.
 
A la pharmacie, vous avez la possibilité :
  • de payer les médicaments comptant et de vous les faire rembourser par votre caisse maladie ou assurance accident contre présentation du ticket de caisse et de l’ordonnance. 
  • ou de déposer une feuille de pharmacie de votre caisse de maladie ou d’assurances accident. Ces feuilles sont valables pendant 3 mois. Caisses maladie ou assurances accident fournissent à leurs clients des cartes électroniques qui font office de feuilles de pharmacie.

Demandez des médicaments génériques

Beaucoup de médicaments usuels ont été copiés; il existe alors sur le marché des médicaments génériques nettement moins chers. Sur fonds d’augmentation rapide des coûts de la santé, les pharmacies sont appelées à proposer systématiquement à leurs clients des médicaments génériques. Si ce n’est pas le cas pour votre ordonnance, renseignez-vous sur le pourquoi
 
Attention !
Dans le cas où il existe un générique meilleur marché qui est remboursé par les caisses maladie, celles-ci prélèvent une quote-part de 20 % lorsqu'on choisit le médicament original, sauf si le médecin confirme que, pour des raisons médicales, il n'est pas possible d'effectuer le traitement avec un générique.
 
Recommandation
Fréquentez toujours la même pharmacie. Vous vous assurez ainsi un meilleur contrôle des médicaments prescrits et vous simplifiez le travail administratif pour vous-même, votre caisse maladie et la pharmacie.

Liens: