Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

School and Religion

Certainly, different cantons put their education system in a Christian-humanist framework. The concept of teaching and teaching aids of public schools however must be neutral from a religious point of view. Private schools by cons are not required to comply to the principle of religious neutrality.

The school acts as a system of rules for the integration of children and adolescents in the Swiss daily life. This means that religious precepts should not prevent their access to kwoledge and training. However to preserve the right to freedom, school life should placed under the sign of religious tolerance.

Holidays

The Christians holidays, there is no school.

In most cantons, at compulsory school, students of non-Christian religion are given time-off for important religious holidays on parents request.  Sometimes there are “recognized” lists of mandatory non-Christian holidays.
Recommendation
Talk to the class teachers. They can advise at any time

Attention
Students must themselves catch-up with missed lessons. 
In post-compulsory level, adolescents themselves can request for a course exmption.
 

Exemption from certain branches of education

The exemption of certain branches of education is in principle not possible.

Gymnastics and swimming

For gym class, the authorities advise principals and teachers to design the course so that no religious feeling is hurt. In particular, separate showers for both sexes and which can be locked should be made ​​available. Gymnastics and swimming in a set that covers the entire body are in principle permitted.
 

Excursions

The field trips, sports and thematic weeks as part of the curriculum, are mandatory for all students. Also in this case, teachers must adjust the environment accordingly: dormitories and showers separated by gender and adherence to dietary prescriptions of the various religions are part of it it.

Attention
Parents are generally advised to send request and related informations quite early to the Class teachers.
 

School branch, Ethic and religion/ Culture and religion

In this branch, the issues of ethics, moral and responsibility are presented and discussed from the point of view, including culture and religion. This teaching belongs to the training mission of the school and is compulsory for all students.
 

Religion classes

In religion classes, are transmitted content and practices of a particular religion. The attendance of a religion class is optional. In many cantons, the Christian religion classes are held at public school, during after-hours mandatory teaching.
 

Dress codes

In most townships, there are no specific dress codes for students. The clothes must be appropriate and not to interfere with class participation, or communication.
 

Food requirements

During school trips and at the canteen non-Christian children have the opportunity to observe the dietary laws of their religion. Vegetarian food  appears on the menu now almost everywhere in Switzerland. Pork meat is reported as standard.

             Attention
             Dans ce cas aussi, il faut que les parents s'adressent aux maîtres de classe en cas de doute
             In this case too, parents must inform the  class teachers in case of doubt..

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Ecole et religion

Certes, les différents cantons inscrivent leur système éducatif dans un cadre chrétien-humaniste. Le concept d'enseignement et les moyens pédagogiques des écoles publiques doivent cependant être neutres d'un point de vue religieux. Les écoles privées ne sont, par contre, pas tenues de respecter le principe de la neutralité religieuse.


L'école joue le rôle de système de règles pour l'intégration des enfants et des adolescents dans la vie quotidienne suisse. Cela signifie notamment que des prescriptions religieuses ne doivent pas leur empêcher l'accès au savoir et à la formation. Pour préserver le droit à la liberté cependant, la vie scolaire doit être placée sous le signe de la tolérance religieuse.

Jours fériés

Les jours fériés chrétiens, il n'y a pas école.

Dans la plupart des cantons, à l'école obligatoire, l'on accorde aux élèves de religion non chrétienne des congés pour les jours fériés religieux importants, sur demande des parents. Il existe parfois des listes obligatoires de jours fériés non chrétiens « reconnus ».


Recommandation
Adressez-vous aux maîtres de classe. Ils pourront en tout temps vous renseigner.

Attention
Les élèves doivent eux-mêmes rattraper la matière manquée.

Au niveau post-obligatoire, les adolescents peuvent eux-mêmes demander une dispense de cours.

Dispense de certaines branches d'enseignement

La dispense de certaines branches d'enseignement n'est en principe pas possible.

Gymnastique et natation

Pour les cours de gymnastique, les autorités conseillent aux directions d'écoles et aux enseignants de concevoir le cours de manière à ce qu'aucun sentiment religieux ne soit blessé.  En particulier, des douches séparées pour les deux sexes et  pouvant être verrouillées doivent être mises à disposition. La gymnastique et la natation  dans un ensemble qui couvre tout le corps sont en principe autorisées.

Excursions

Les excursions scolaires, les semaines sportives et thématiques qui font partie du programme des cours, sont obligatoires pour tous les élèves. Dans ce cas aussi, les enseignants doivent aménager l'environnement en conséquence : dortoirs  et douches séparés en fonction des sexes et observance des prescriptions alimentaires des différentes religions en font partie.

Attention
Les parents sont de manière générale priés de transmettre les vœux et informations correspondants assez tôt aux maîtres de classe.


Branche scolaire Ethique et religion / Culture et religion

Dans cette branche, les questions de l'éthique, de la moral et de la responsabilité sont présentées et discutées d'un point de vue englobant la culture et la religion. Cet enseignement appartient à la mission formatrice de l'école et est obligatoire pour tous les élèves.

Cours de religion

Au cours de religion sont transmis les contenus et pratiques d'une religion précise. Le suivi d'un cours de religion  est facultatif. Dans beaucoup de cantons, le cours de religion chrétienne a lieu, à l'école publiques, durant les en dehors des heures obligatoires d'enseignement. 

Prescriptions vestimentaires

Dans la plupart des cantons, il n'y a pas de prescriptions vestimentaires particulières pour les élèves. Les habits doivent être appropriés et n'entraver ni la participation aux cours, ni la communication. 

Prescriptions alimentaires

Lors de sorties scolaires et à la cantine, les enfants non chrétiens ont la possibilité d'observer les prescriptions alimentaires de leur religion. La nourriture végétarienne figure aujourd'hui au menu presque partout en Suisse. La viande de porc est signalée de manière standard.


Attention
Dans ce cas aussi, il faut que les parents s'adressent aux maîtres de classe en cas de doute.
.