Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

State and Religion

Religious neutrality of the state is an essential base for ensuring freedom of individual religion. At the federal level, Switzerland is therefore defined as a secular state. The Confederation does not maintain institutional relations with individual religious communities. The only exceptions are the chaplaincy of the army provided by the local religious community and the collaboration with ecclesiastic and Jewish organisations working on refugees issues and the right to asylum. The cantons are responsible for regulation of relations between state and religion.

The relationship between the religion and the State remain deeply rooted in Switzerland. Until the foundation of modern Switzerland in 1848, this relation between religious authorities and political authorities was very narrow in different Cantons.  The Catholic and Evangelical Reformed Churches were state churches in many Cantons.

Nowadays, the link between the two churches and the State is present in most Cantons. Only the Cantons of Geneva and Neuchatel apply a clear separation between the church and the State.

Christian churches are very active part in democratic decision-making in Switzerland. They are involved in human rights and engage in social or ethical positions. In the light of their own experience of religious freedom, they are also committed in recent years, in favour of religious tolerance towards people of other faiths.

Religious communities recognised by public law

 In Switzerland, the relationship between Church and State takes the form of recognition of religious communities as corporations under public law, known as State Churches:

The Catholic and Evangelical Reformed Churches are widely regarded public law (except in GE and  in NE).

The cantons of Zurich, Bern, Lucerne, Solothurn, Basel-Land, Basel-city, Schaffhausen, St. Gallen and Aargau also recognized the Catholic- Christian Church as Church of public law.
The cantons of Bern, Fribourg, Basel-City and St. Gallen also give the Jewish community a public law status.

The cantons of Zurich, Bern, Obwalden, Nidwalden, Glarus, Basel-Land, Schaffhausen, Appenzell Inner- Rhodes, Aargau, Ticino, Valais and Jura also give to other religious communities the opportunity to be recognized. Although the number of cantons with extended access to the recognition of public law in their constitution has increased, no community outside the Judeo-Christian spectrum has earned this recognition.

Right and duties related to the recognition

Different rights and duties are related to the recognition of public law. In addition to the right to collect taxes, state churches get easier access to public infrastructure (schools, hospitals, prisons, etc.).

Recognition of public law is also related to specific conditions. Are required: a form of democratic organization, the respect of the principle of state of law, the recognition of religious freedom and financial transparency.

Unrecognized religious communities

 

All unrecognized religions - including Muslim organizations, Hindu, Buddhist, Free Church, etc. - Are subject to private law. They must organize themselves into associations or foundations.

 

In addition to recognition as a public law corporation, the cantons of Zurich and Basel-City also predicts for particularly important religious communities, a simplified variant of the official recognition. In this case, religious communities are organized under private law, but have more sustained exchanges with state institutions and can perform specific tasks on behalf of the State. In the canton of Zurich, the Israelitische Cultusgemeinde and the  Jüdische Liberale Gemeinde are recognized in this way.

 


 

In this section: Bases of the recognition of public law

Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Etat et religion

La neutralité religieuse de l'Etat est une base essentielle pour assurer la liberté de religion individuelle. Au niveau fédéral, la Suisse se définit donc comme un Etat séculaire. La Confédération n'entretient pas de relations institutionnelles avec des communautés religieuses individuelles. Seules font exception l'aumônerie de l'armée assurée par la communauté religieuse locale et la collaboration avec des organisations ecclésiales et juives en matière de réfugiés et de droit d'asile. Ce sont les cantons qui sont compétents en matière de réglementation des rapports entre l'Etat et la religion.


La relation entre la religion et l'Etat reste profondément ancrée en Suisse. Jusqu'à la fondation de la Suisse moderne en 1848, cette relation entre les autorités religieuses et les autorités politiques était très étroite dans les différents cantons. Les Eglises catholique et évangélique réformée étaient dans plusieurs cantons Eglises d'Etat.
Aujourd'hui encore, le lien des deux Eglises avec l'Etat est présent dans la plupart des cantons. Seuls les cantons de Genève et de Neuchâtel font une séparation claire entre l'Eglise et l'Etat.

Les Eglises chrétiennes prennent très activement part aux processus de décision démocratique en Suisse. Elles s'impliquent en matière de droits humains et s'engagent lors de prises de position sociales ou éthiques. A la lumière de leur propre expérience en matière de liberté religieuse, elles se sont également engagées, ces dernières années, en faveur de la tolérance religieuse envers les personnes d'autres confessions.

Communautés religieuses reconnues de droit public

En Suisse, la relation entre l'Etat et l'Eglise prend la forme d'une reconnaissance des communautés religieuses comme étant des corporations de droit public, appelées Eglises d'Etat :

    Les Eglises catholique et évangélique réformée sont partout reconnues de droit public (sauf à GE et à NE).
    Les cantons de Zurich, Berne, Lucerne, Soleure, Bâle-Campagne, Bâle-Ville, Schaffhouse, Saint-Gall et Argovie  ont également admis l'Eglise catholique-chrétienne comme Eglise de droit public.
    Les cantons de Berne, Fribourg, Bâle-Ville et Saint-Gall donnent aussi à la communauté juive un statut de droit public.

Les cantons de Zurich, Berne, Obwald, Nidwald, Glaris, Bâle-Campagne, Schaffhouse, Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures, Argovie, Tessin, Valais et Jura donnent aussi à d'autres communautés religieuses la possibilité d'être reconnues. Bien que le nombre de cantons ayant élargi l'accès à la reconnaissance de droit public dans leur constitution ait augmenté, aucune communauté hors du spectre judéo-chrétien n'a obtenu cette reconnaissance.

Droits et devoirs liés à la reconnaissance

Différents droits et devoirs sont liés à la reconnaissance de droit public. En plus du droit d'encaisser des impôts, les Eglises d'Etat obtiennent un accès facilité aux infrastructures publiques (écoles, hôpitaux, prisons, etc.).

La reconnaissance de droit public est également liée à des conditions précises. Sont exigées : une forme d'organisation démocratique, le respect du principe d'Etat de droit, la reconnaissance de la liberté religieuse et la transparence financière.

Communautés religieuses non reconnues

Toutes les communautés religieuses non reconnues  – notamment les organisations musulmanes, hindouistes, bouddhistes, d'Eglise libre, etc.  – sont soumises au droit privé. Elles doivent s'organiser en associations ou en fondations.

Outre la reconnaissance en tant que corporation de droit public, les cantons de Zurich et de Bâle-Ville prévoient également, pour les communautés religieuses particulièrement importantes, une variante simplifiée de la reconnaissance officielle. Dans ce cas, les communautés religieuses restent organisées selon le droit privé, mais ont des échanges plus soutenus avec les institutions étatiques et peuvent réaliser des tâches précises sur mandat de l'Etat. Dans le canton de Zurich, la Israelitische Cultusgemeinde et la Jüdische Liberale Gemeinde sont reconnues de cette façon.

Autour du thème: Bases de la reconnaissance de droit public

Liens: