Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Sans-Papiers

According to the estimations, between 100'000 and 180'000 people living illegally work in Switzerland. Living conditions for the “illegal immigrants” are difficult in this country. The daily life of these “Sans-Papier” is usually complicated. Consultation services exist in Aarau, Basel, Bern, Delemont, Geneva and Zurich in order help them.  


Many “Sans-Papiers” come from what we call third countries – Eastern Europe, Latin America, and Ex-Yugoslavia or from the Phillipines – and thus occupy unqualified jobs. The reason is that the Law on foreigner leaves them little or no hope of obtaining regularization for their stay in Switzerland.
 
More and more oftenly, these “Sans-Papiers“ are asylum-seekers. The unregistered, dismissed asylum applicants or those, whose temporary permit has been revoked, thusly illicitly live, voluntarily or not, in Switzerland.

The right to formation

The children of “Sans-Papiers“ have the right to attend public schools. There is no exchange of information between the schools and the immigration authorities.

Help in case of an emergency

“Sans-Papiers” do not have the right to social aid. However, according to Swiss constitution, they have the right to aid in case of an emergency. But seeing that the concerned parties must file a report to the authorities on the amounts used for the emergency aid, the danger of them being rapidly arrested and expelled is high. As a “Sans-Papiers”, the best thing to do is to ask for advice from a consultation service that can help you.


Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Sans-Papiers

Selon les estimations, entre 100'000 et 200'000 personnes séjournant illégalement travaillent en Suisse. Les conditions de vie pour ces « immigrants illégaux » sont difficiles dans ce pays. Le quotidien des « Sans-Papiers » est souvent très compliqué. Des services de consultation existent à Aarau, Bâle, Berne, Délémont, Genève et Zurich pour leur venir en aide.

 
Beaucoup de « Sans-Papiers » viennent de ce que l'on appelle les pays tiers - de l'Europe de l'Est, d'Amérique Latine, d' Ex-Youslavie ou des Phillipines - et de ce fait, occupent en Suisse des emplois non qualifiés. La raison en est que la Loi sur les étrangers leur laisse peu d'espoir quant à la possibilité d'obtenir une régularisation de leur séjour.
 
De plus en plus souvent, les « Sans-Papiers » sont des demandeurs d'asile. Les demandeurs d'asile non-inscrits, déboutés ou dont le permis de séjour temporaire a été révoqué demeurent alors en Suisse, au noir, volontairement ou involontairement.

Droit à la formation

Les enfants des « Sans-Papiers » on le droit de fréquenter les écoles publiques. Il n'y a aucun échange d'informations entre les écoles et les autorités de l'immigration.

Aide en cas de détresse

Les « Sans-Papiers » n'ont pas droit à l'aide sociale. Cependant, selon la constitution suisse, ils ont droit à une aide en cas d'urgence. Mais étant donné que les parties concernées doivent faire un rapport aux autorités sur les montants utilisés pour l'aide d'urgence, le danger est grand qu'ils soient arrêtés et expulsés rapidement. En tant que « Sans-Papiers », le mieux est de demander conseil à un service de consultation qui pourra vous aider.

Liens: